N&G3

Ubuntu

From the full of symbols bantu culture stands out the term Ubuntu, meaning in wider way “humanity”.

It is often also translated as “humanity towards others”, but is used, in most of the cases,  in a more philosophical sense to mean “the belief in a universal bond of sharing that connects all humanity”.

According to Michael Onyebuchi Eze, the core of ubuntu can best be summarised as follows: “ ‘A person is a person through other people’ strikes an affirmation of one’s humanity through recognition of an ‘other’ in his or her uniqueness and difference. It is a demand for a creative intersubjective formation in which the ‘other’ becomes a mirror (but only a mirror) for my subjectivity. This idealism suggests to us that humanity is not embedded in my person solely as an individual; my humanity is co-substantively bestowed upon the other and me. Humanity is a quality we owe to each other. We create each other and need to sustain this otherness creation. And if we belong to each other, we participate in our creations: we are because you are, and since you are, definitely I am. The ‘I am’ is not a rigid subject, but a dynamic self-constitution dependent on this otherness creation of relation and distance”.

This concept clearly expresses the importance of the community in where you live that makes you being who you are thanks to the others.

It’s interesting to note that Linux Operating System chose the name “Ubuntu” for its software, trying to make a correlation between its freely accessible software and the sharing, typical of the Ubuntu philosophy.

Ubuntu


Parmi les nombreux symboles de la culture bantoue se détache le terme Ubuntu, qui signifie plus largement “humanité”.

Il est aussi souvent traduit par “humanité envers les autres”, mais est utilisé, dans la plupart des cas, dans un sens plus philosophique pour signifier “la croyance en un lien universel de partage qui relie toute l’humanité“.

Selon Michael Onyebuchi Eze, le noyau de l’ubuntu peut être résumé comme suit : “Une personne est une personne à travers d’autres personnes » est une affirmation de son humanité par la reconnaissance d’un “autre” dans son unicité et sa différence. C’est une demande de formation intersubjective créative dans laquelle l’ « autre » devient un miroir (mais seulement un miroir) de ma subjectivité. Cet idéalisme nous suggère que l’humanité n’est pas seulement ancrée dans ma personne en tant qu’individu ; mon humanité est co-substantiellement conférée à l’autre et à moi. L’humanité est une qualité que nous nous devons les uns aux autres. Nous nous créons les uns les autres et devons soutenir cette création de l’altérité. Et si nous nous appartenons les uns aux autres, nous participons à nos créations : nous le sommes parce que vous l’êtes, et puisque vous l’êtes, je le suis certainement. Le “je suis” n’est pas un sujet rigide, mais une constitution dynamique de soi qui dépend de cette création d’altérité de relation et de distance”.

Ce concept exprime clairement l’importance de la communauté dans laquelle vous vivez qui fait que vous êtes ce que vous êtes grâce aux autres.

Il est intéressant de noter que le système d’exploitation Linux a choisi le nom “Ubuntu” pour ses logiciels, en essayant d’établir une corrélation entre ses logiciels librement accessibles et le partage, typique de la philosophie Ubuntu.